Why

I think I can do this. Not going to care whether I am losing weight or my fatness has changed.

I need to do this.

Why do I need to do this?

I have not always been vegan. In my “pregan” days, I have run 3 marathons and a couple of duathalons and a few long distance bike races and one RAGBRAI and countless other races. I was part of an elite group of athletes. We did awesome shit together. All of us, except me, were BIG meat eaters, some even paleo. When I became fully plant based, there were skeptics. I was warned by some well wishers how I will drop my performance and even become a non-athlete.

Oh, the horror.

Capture.PNG

And then there is always the lack of … ugh… protein. 9725c7cac72b47e5b82d55683bf1e7cc230f190916e138f38900c1a46cd0584c

Vegan. I had to do it. If I never race again, that’s ok. But animals rights is first in my life. I took more than a year off from “athleting”, also due to a diagnosis as being diabetic (lovely, thanks mom for this gift that keeps on giving).

Diabetic athlete – an endurance athlete that is – does not exist. More on that story later.

Leave a Reply

