Fuck you diabetes

I got diagnosed with diabetes a few years back. At the time I was running / biking 3-4 times a week!

I have some super enthused coworkers (Thenna D, Komal P) who want to start racing (running). One of them have the same situation as me, not losing weight or his gut in spite of running, like, A LOT. Then one of them found this article.

Wait.

What the crap?

[Since you didn’t read the article, here is the skinny. It says, when you are at an aerobic workout for an extended period of time, cortisol stays active in your system, fucking up your insulin functions causing your blood sugar to shoot up and eventually making you diabetic. Oh, and your gut growth goes on overdrive.]

Yes, this is also a thing. Upon further research by yours lovingly and my RNP Amy S (who has dedicated her life to keep me as a diabetic endurance athlete) and my awesome dietitian Cat T (who (unwarily)happily accepted the mountainous challenge of working with a vegan, diabetic, endurance athlete), it was established, I have that crappy body type where regardless of what I do, I will remain fat, FOREVER. Some of my wise coworkers immediately dropped all plans to run.

Me?                 me

Umm… But I ….

“Endurance is one of the most difficult disciplines, but it is to the one who endures that the final victory comes.” –The Buddha

z9AasLv

I started some HIIT (big up George C, my kickass trainer), speed training etc, to supplement my slow, long distance grinding. Let’s see how it pans out!

More on this fucked up “condition” – http://www.todaysdietitian.com/newarchives/111609p38.shtml

Leave a Reply

