Mountains 2 Beach Marathon 5/29/2016

The name says it all. It stated off on top of a mountain in Ojai, CA and finished at the beach in Ventura CA. Lot of downhills, couple of uphills and a lot of flatness. High 50°s to low 60°s with light mist the entire race and no sun. Perfect setup for a PR right?
No.

TENDINITIS.

But I finished, eventually. medalpng
With the help of these angels IMG_2841

Now back to tendon rehab, which sucks!

From going to the race packet pickup place in LA, only to find out it was the same day last week at this location, to racing (in my Audi rental, woot woot) 70 miles to the pickup place in Ventura before the cut off time, to then racing back to catch a lil bit of sleep because I need to get up at 2:30 am to be at the start of the race by 6 am, 80 miles away, to racing with an injury, to slow driving back to LA… it was all worth it.

Why?
IMG_2842This is the post marathon vegan dinner at it’s best. After all, this is what I run for. download

I visited Moo Shoes. The store where everything is cruelty-free. After this very pushy salesman, Maki ( IMG_2863), who wouldn’t quit, I had to buy a pair of shoes, even though I don’t need any more shoes at the moment. Good times!

And as always, I was sad to leave LA! Where I get amazing home cooked vegan food (thanks Sonali) and intellectually stimulating conversations and excellent(well, almost) chauffeuring (thanks Shan) and a lot of party time with my 2 favorite tiny lil friends.

And va who makes my travel to the left coast always a pleasant experience. Emoji-heart-eyes-face-free-printable-3.jpg

Leave a Reply

