The Myth of Humane Meat

Hu·mane / hyoomáyn / adj. 1. having what are considered the best qualities of human beings; kind, tender, merciful, sympathetic.

I attended the Future of Food Conference organized by The Humane Society of the United States on Friday and Saturday. There were some really good panels and some amazing vegan food. And Peter Singer. I “broke up” with Mr. Singer after I found out about his comments on bestiality. But after listening to him speak on Friday, I’m back on the wagon with him. I even got a picture with him.

14612585_10154322848816886_8390205535456038760_o

I had a decision to make about dinner after the conference. To go with my vegan friends or with my non-vegan friends, both groups equally being fun and entertaining. I went with my non-vegan friends, as a good vegan should be. 12-face-with-stuck-out-tongue-and-winking-eye They were ethically conscious eaters and talked about looking for certified humane label when buying their food. I commented that certified humane is a myth. They asked me if I can give them more details about my comment, hence this post. Go to one or all the links below to learn more about humane certification and the propaganda put out by the meat industry.

I was watching Easy  last night and the vegan in me was fully committed to the show from the beginning of the second episode. Then came the end of that episode. What a complete disappointment! Check it out yourself.

Go here to get a comprehensive look at humane myth in all of animal agriculture.
http://www.humanemyth.org/

Another excellent resource for all “humane” labeling lies
http://humanefacts.org/

An excellent article on “humane” farming
http://freefromharm.org/animal-products-and-ethics/a-comprehensive-analysis-of-the-humane-farming-myth/

Undercover investigation at a whole foods “certified humane egg” farm
http://theirturn.net/humane-myth/

PETA Prime article on “humane meat”
http://prime.peta.org/2010/12/the-myth-of-humane-meat

“Do the best you can until you know better. Then when you know better, do better.”

– Maya Angelou

Leave a Reply

